Monday Musings

Mondays, one of the most dreaded day of the week. Luckily for me and the rest of the students here it’s a holiday~

Today is I’dul Adha (Feast of Sacrifice) a national public holiday here in the Philippines to encourage goodwill between the minority Muslim Filipinos and the majority Christian Filipinos.

What is the I’dul Adha all about you wonder?

It’s a Muslim celebration that honors the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to obey Allah and also commemorates the end of the Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca).

Another fun fact is: Did you know that about 90% of our population are Christians? Our country is the 4th largest Christian country in the world.

A little silly thing about me is the written religion on my birth certificate- can you guess what’s written there?

Bapticostal– you’ve read it right. Bapticostal.

Who came up with that? My father since he was a Pentecostal and according to him my mother was a Baptist that time ha ha. XD

Some people don’t seem to like to use the word “religion”; mostly Christians I’ve talked with.

They say it’s Christianity is not religion- it’s a relationship with Jesus.

If you’ve talked to me when I was younger, I would probably cite the same thing. It was usual for me to go to church, read my Bible and memorize the passages to heart.

What about now? I still don’t use the term religion, but I do know that there isn’t any wrong connotation as some would like to believe .

Let’s look at the etymology :

 Religion like most words stem from Latin.

It comes from re (again) and ligare (to bind or reconnect)

So the plain meaning of religion is to bind oneself again or to reconnect- to whom? and why?

To who is a pretty easy answer- to the divine Being (s) you are worshiping. Whether you call him/her God, Allah etc.

Why do we need to reconnect ourselves?

We had become separated because of our sins; even from our birth we were already “sinful.”

 In the Biblical story of the creation of man and woman (Adam and Eve); at first humans were pure but when they partook of the fruit from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil after the temptation of the serpent- even after being forbidden by God from eating.

That was the start of human’s separation from God.

Now whether you believe that or not is up to you, according to my Theology teacher the book of Genesis is full of “idioms”, they aren’t to be interpreted literally.

Now I promised to write about the Intramural right? It’s the last day that I’m supposed to write about but my sister is going to use now XD Got to go- I’ll just include it on my next post~

Have a nice day~ ❤

Leave a Reply

